In order to ensure the University of Florida complies with federal and state child labor laws, department hiring authorities must complete the UF Child Labor Law Certification for Employees under 18 form prior to hiring a minor (anyone under age 18).
This form requires the approval and signature of the hiring authority, and dean, director or vice president. Please remember to include this document with any OPS or salaried appointment papers that are forwarded to Human Resource Services for processing.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets wages, hours worked, and safety requirements for minors (individuals under 18) working in jobs covered by this statute. The regulations vary depending upon the particular job involved. As a general regulation, the FLSA sets 14 years of age as the minimum age for employment, and limits the number of hours worked by minors under the age of 16.
Also, the FLSA generally prohibits the employment of a minor in work decared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor (for example, work involving excavation, driving, and the operation of many types of power-driven equipment). For a list of prohibited duties for a minor, please go to State of Florida website at http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr/reg/childlabor/ChildLaborProhibit.html
The State of Florida sets the following restrictions on employment:
When School is in Session
Florida law states that on a school day, minors under 16 may work no more than THREE (3) hours when school is scheduled for the following day and up to EIGHT (8) hours on other days when school does not follow. For minors 16 and 17, the allowable hours are: 30 hours per week when school is in session; eight hours per day between 6:30 a.m. and 11 p.m. if school is scheduled the following day.
When School is Not in Session
Florida law allows minors 14 and 15 to work EIGHT (8) hours per day between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. on days when there isn’t school the next day and up to FORTY (40) per week on non-school weeks and during summer vacation. For minors 16 and 17 there are no limitations on hours worked when school is not scheduled the following day, during holidays, and summer vacations.
Minors are NOT permitted to work during normal school hours unless they are enrolled in a school-to-work experience program, career education, or other program declared exempt by the state, or have received a partial waiver.
All departments must comply with the provision of the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage, and Hour Division and the Florida Child Labor Law, which is administered by the Florida Department of Labor and Employment Security. Please visit these links for the most recent information.
Minors may work no more than 4 consecutive hours without a 30-minute uninterrupted break.
Departments located outside of the immediate Gainesville must follow the same recruitment procedures as on campus departments.
Disabled applicants or employees may advise Recruitment & Staffing of their specific disability so that accommodations can be provided where reasonable and appropriate.
Former employees who had satisfactory work records while at the University of Florida (meaning they were recommended for rehire by the last university employer) and have had satisfactory work records from subsequent employers may reapply for employment at UF after 180 days from their date of termination with the university.
Former employees who are eligible for re-employment as described above must reapply through Recruitment and Staffing in the same manner as a new applicant. All new employees hired into benefits-eligible positions will be classified as TEAMS employees.
Former employees who resigned in lieu of termination or who were terminated because of unsatisfactory performance, job abandonment, or misconduct are not eligible for re-employment consideration.
Prior to hiring a UF and or state retirees, please click here for additional information.